Tuesday, 19 November 2013

Case against Kenyan, Ugandan and Rwandan govts filed at EACJ

Arusha.Three Tanzanians yesterday filed a case at the East Africa Court of Justice against the Kenyan, Ugandan and Rwandan governments and the East Africa Community (EAC) secretary general.
The four are accused of violating the EAC treaty after holding three meetings which sidelined Tanzania and Burundi which are other member states.
Those who filed the case at the Arusha-based court are Mr Ally Msangi, Mr David Makata and Mr John Adam . They pray for judges at the court to suspend the implementation of resolutions reached during the meetings of presidents Uhuru Kenyata of Kenya, Yoweri Museveni of Uganda and Paul Kagame of Rwanda.
Their lawyer Jimm Ubedi said his clients are challenging the three presidents for holding meetings on June 24 and 25 in Entebbe, Uganda, followed by another meeting which was held on August 28 in Mombasa, Kenya, and another meeting which was held on October 28 in Kigali, Rwanda.
According to him, the meetings violated the Section 6 (a) (b) (d) and (f), Section 7 (f), Section 71 (d), Section 3 (3) and Section (1) C (3) c of the EAC treaty, which require all EAC member states to be involved in making decisions with regard to the integration process.
Presidents of Rwanda, Uganda and Kenya met under what was later dubbed as the ‘Coalition of the Willing’ to go ahead and fast-track the East Africa integration to create the East African federation in the shortest possible time.